3600 Lorraine Drive • Walworth, NY 14568
Telephone: (315) 986-1400
Town Hall: 3600 Lorraine Dr. Walworth, NY 14568
 (315) 986-1400

MS4 Stormwater/Drainage

MS4 is commonly known as “Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems”. Norm Druschel is the Town of Walworth Stormwater Management Officer (315.986.1400) (bldginsp@townofwalworthny.gov).

The Town of Walworth has been mandated by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and The Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) to be included in this program to control stormwater runoff in order to protect and improve the Nation’s waterways. Polluted stormwater runoff is often transported to municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4’s) and ultimately discharged into local rivers and streams without treatment.

This program is intended to improve the Nation’s waterways by reducing the quantity of pollutants that stormwater picks up and carries into storm sewer systems during storm events. Common pollutants include oil and grease from roadways, pesticides from lawns, sediment from construction sties, and carelessly discarded trash, such as cigarette butts, paper wrappers, and plastic bottles. When deposited into nearby waterways through MS4 discharges, these pollutants can impair the waterways, thereby discouraging recreational use of the resource, contaminating drinking water supplies, and interfering with the habitat for fish, other aquatic organisms, and wildlife. The MS4 permit requires the Town of Walworth to develop, implement, and enforce a stormwater management program to reduce the discharge of pollutants from the permit area to the maximum extent practicable to protect water quality.

The Town of Walworth is a member of the Ontario Wayne Stormwater Coalition along with the Towns of Farmington, Macedon, Ontario and Victor, Village of Victor, Wayne County Highway Department and Ontario County Highway Department. We are required to provide an annual report to NYSDEC summarizing progress made on reaching the goals of the permit in six minimum measure areas. The six areas are:
Public Education and Outreach

  • MCM 1: Public Education and Outreach
  • MCM 2: Public Involvement and Participation
  • MCM 3: Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  • MCM 4: Construction Site Stormwater Runoff Control
  • MCM 5: Post Construction Stormwater Management
  • MCM 6: Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations

To review the 2022-2023 Joint MS4 Annual Report
Click here: Ontario Wayne Stormwater Coalition.

Ontario Wayne Stormwater Facebook Page

Click on the links below for more information: